| 01423 358375
Ebor Academy Trust Logo

Early Years Foundation Stage – EYFS

The overreaching aim of the EYFS is to help pupils achieve their full potential by delivering work through 4 distinct but complementary themes:

    • A unique child
    • Positive relationships
    • Enabling environment
    • Learning and developing

Children at EYFS will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating theie understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. Children should mostly the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan each child’s learning and all activities will be suited to each child’s unique needs and interests. Children will work towards achieving Early learning Goals within these 7 areas.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking; which takes place both indoors and outside.

Play underpins the curriculum provision. Most children play spontaneously, although some may need adult support. It is through play that they develop intellectually, creatively, physically, socially and emotionally.